A Gift to be Simple:Copland & More

Note from our Music Director, Sarah Pearson

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

Welcome to The Cleveland Orchestra and Chorus of Tennessee’s 2020-2021 season, the orchestra’s 5th! What an exciting four years we’ve had together. The orchestra and chorus are growing and sounding better than ever, and thanks to you, our concert attendance is growing as well. I want to thank each of our orchestra members and administrative staff for their incredible hard work over the summer and ongoing to help make this season possible. We are living in unprecedented times but now more than ever we need music. Music reaches us all often where we did not realize we needed it. We are beyond thrilled that we are able to offer live music this season and that you have chosen to join us.

To open our season, we are delighted to feature Sarah Ransom, on Double Bass and it will be an opening you will not want to miss. The music for opening night will focus on music from Copland and More: “Tis a Gift to be Simple”. Our hope is that in the midst of so much happening around us both socially and emotionally today, that this will be a time of rest and renewal. Our second concert this season will feature patron favorites from Broadway to the Movies we think you will find several if not all of them that will bring joy to your hearts. Then this spring we will continue our partnership with ADJ•ective New Music and be performing new works they have recently written for TCO! Stay tuned for upcoming announcements on those details.

More than ever before there’s a real sense of community in our orchestra and chorus that we hope you feel and sense. This is your Cleveland Orchestra and we hope that each of you will become vested with us! The orchestra and chorus are growing, taking on new musical challenges, and venturing into exciting new places this season. Thank you for joining us on this exciting journey. Thank you for all that you do and being here to play us. We couldn’t do it without you!

Incredibly grateful,

Sarah Pearson


The Cleveland Orchestra and Chorus of TennesseeMusic Director, Sarah PearsonSaturday, October 24, 2020 at 4pm

Museum Center at 5ive Points

Guest Soloist, Sarah Ransom

Copland and More: “A Gift to be Simple”

Fanfare for the Common Man                                                Aaron Copland (1900-1090)

Concerto for Double Bass, Op. 3                                    Serge Koussevitsky (1874-1951)

I. Allegro

II. Andante

III. Allegro

 Double Bass, Sarah Ransom

Appalachian Spring Suite for 13 Instruments                       Aaron Copland (1900-1090)

(Ballet for Martha)

An Outdoor Overture                                                              Aaron Copland (1900-1090)